CCI problems |
Post Reply |
Author | |
blackdog
Regular Joined: 14 Nov 2006 Location: Vatican City State Posts: 43 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: CCI problems Posted: 21 Oct 2007 at 5:21pm |
Does anybody else use CCI in their custom scripts? I have a problem which I notified BC of a month or so ago but so far no answer. Most unlike them I must say.
I have the following portion of code:-
[horzline=0]
n1 := input("CCI period",100,1); n2 := input("ma smoothing period",20,1); longcci:=cci(n1); trigger:= ma(longcci,n2,S); [name=blackline; color=black; linestyle=solid] longcci; [name=trigger; color=green; linestyle=solid] trigger; This doesnt work properly, however if I substitute the line
trigger:= ma(longcci,n2,S); with the following line not using 'longcci' trigger:= ma(cci(n1),n2,S); it will now work!!??? why??? The problem with using the longer line is that it executes more slowly as it has to recalculate a value that it should already have. This is an extract of a much longer code which really does take an age to calculate. |
|
blackdog
Regular Joined: 14 Nov 2006 Location: Vatican City State Posts: 43 |
Post Options Quote Reply Posted: 05 Nov 2007 at 10:19am |
I still havent got an answer from BC, but I have found a work around. So if anybody else is trying to code woodies CCI or any other CCI system, this will eliminate the need to recalculate the CCI every time it is mentioned in your script.
Instead of cciName:=CCI(n1) use cciName:=ma(cci(n1),1,S) as demonstrated in the following script.
[horzline=0] n1 := input("CCI period",100,1);n2 := input("ma smoothing period",20,1);cn1:= cci(n1);cn1a:= ma(cci(n1),1,S); {This is the workaround}trigger1:= ma(cci(n1),n2,S);{this gives correct value}trigger2:= ma(cn1,n2,S); {this gives wrong value}trigger3:= ma(cn1a,n2,S); {this shows the workaround gives correct value}[name =blackline; color=black; linestyle=solid]cn1; [name =trigger1; color=green; linestyle=solid; width=2]trigger1; [name =trigger2; color=red; linestyle=solid; width=1]trigger2; [name =trigger3; color=yellow; linestyle=dash]trigger3;
|
|
michaelandnet
Newbie Joined: 20 Jun 2005 Location: Azerbaijan Posts: 8 |
Post Options Quote Reply Posted: 08 Nov 2007 at 10:35am |
I think bull charts might be going down hill.
I have emailed them on a number of ocassions but no response. I was considering going back to bullcharts in April next year since their current operating system does not work on vista. Unless they improve I will stay where I am. I mean if you pay $2,000 for live sucbscriptions per year you want to know it works first. Unless they can show me clearly that their system works with microsoft vista then I will drop their charting package. Regards Michael |
|
blackdog
Regular Joined: 14 Nov 2006 Location: Vatican City State Posts: 43 |
Post Options Quote Reply Posted: 13 Nov 2007 at 2:51pm |
Hi Michael,
What version of are you running? I was under the impression that the latest version 3.6.7 would run on vista. If you have concerns about BC that are not being addressed, email or phone Brendon at BC, he is the head honcho. He has been able to fix most of my problems very quickly.
I saw BC at the Sydney traders expo and they were showing a version that will be released next year with much improved portfolio functions and alerts.
I did suggest that it would be a good idea to publish on the forum what we might expect in new editions of the software and proposed timetable for releases. But they thought it might raise expectations too much.
Regards,
BD
|
|
Post Reply |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |